Posted by: marissaridesbikes | March 14, 2012

Touchstone Cycling: Rider Spotlight – Beverly Chaney

Over the next few weeks we’ll introduce you to each of our Touchstone Climbing teammates with rider profiles and photos. You might be surprised to find that in addition to training many hours per week, most every teammate holds down one (or more) jobs too. Stay tuned for inside information about the riders, both on and off the bike.

Touchstone Teammate Beverly Chaney at Masters Track Nationals 2011

Touchstone Teammate Beverly Chaney at Masters Track Nationals 2011

Name: Beverly Chaney

Nicknames: Bevinator, BevMo, Chaney

Hometown: I was born in San Francisco and raised in Concord (CA)

Current Town: Carmel Valley, CA

Alma Mater: UC Santa Barbara with a Bachelor of Arts in Aquatic Biology. I received my MS-Marine Science/Ichthyology from Moss Landing Marine Labs (CSU).

Racing Category: I’m a Cat 2 on the road and am starting my 5th season.  I also love racing on the track and started getting more serious about it last year. I’ve been racing on the dirt since 2004.

What’s playing on your iPod RIGHT NOW?
Well, I listen to a lot of old school, but recent downloads are Florence + The Machine, Mac Dre, and LMFAO.

Your favorite NCNCA race is…  Cat’s Hill for the fun and Copperopolis for the suffering!

What do you do for a living?
I’m a fisheries biologist working with steelhead on the Carmel River.

When I’m not on my bike you might find me….
Building a tree house in the back yard with my boys.

What’s your favorite quote?  It’s too hard to pick just one!
“It never gets easier, you just go faster.”  – Greg LeMond

“Pain is temporary. Quitting lasts forever.” – Lance Armstrong

“I thought of that while riding my bike.” Albert Einstein, On the Theory of Relativity

Responses

  1. Hi Beverly,
    I am interested in talking with you since the Sea Otter race results placed me at third and I am still trying to put it all together since I finished alone at the finish line.
    Could you email me: Elena Joroski with SJBC

    Thanks


Leave a Reply

Categories

