Posted by: marissaridesbikes | March 11, 2012

Touchstone Climbing: Rider Spotlight – Marissa Axell

Over the next few weeks we’ll introduce you to each of our Touchstone Climbing teammates with rider profiles and photos. You might be surprised to find that in addition to training many hours per week, most every teammate holds down one (or more) jobs too. Stay tuned for inside information about the riders, both on and off the bike.

Introducing Touchstone Climbing’s Marissa Axell

Marissa Axell and Heather Nielsen (Touchstone Climbing) at MERCO. Photo by Tim Westmore

Marissa Axell and Heather Nielsen (Touchstone Climbing) at McDonald's Downtown Grand Prix. Photo by Tim Westmore

Name: Marissa Axell

Nickname: Max or Maxell, and my immediate family might call me Mitz

Hometown: Salem, OR

Current Town: El Cerrito, CA

Alma Mater: I’m a graduate of Willamette University, and I hold a Bachelor of Arts in Biology. I was a collegiate swimmer and am now a member of the WU Sports Hall of Fame, how cool is that?

Racing Category: I’m a Cat 2 and this is my 5th season of racing.

What’s playing on your iPod right this minute?
The last three songs were by Zac Brown Band, Eminem and Girl Talk.

Your favorite NCNCA race is…
A three-way tie between the Giro di SF, Cat’s Hill, and Nevada City Classic.

What do you do for a living?
I’m a Personal Trainer, USA Cycling Level III Coach, and I teach TRX and bootcamp classes in the SF Bay Area. Somewhere in there, I find time to mentor Category 4 Women’s races throughout Northern California.

When I’m not on my bike you might find me…
Geeking out with fitness equipment, planning for future workouts OR hiking in Redwood Park.

What’s your favorite quote?
I have two, the enduring “Shut up Legs” from my favorite rider in the peloton, “Big” Jens Voigt. The other is “I’m kicking my butt today so I can kick yours tomorrow.’ Hey, it gets me through tough cycling intervals and rainy rides. Whatever works, right?

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

