Posted by: marissaridesbikes | January 30, 2012

Out With the Old, In With the New

While most roadies are already building for the 2012 road racing season, I’m just emerging from my off-season after an extended cyclocross season that culminated in January with the Master’s Cyclocross World Championships in Kentucky. After more than a year of nearly continuous training for road, track, and cyclocross, I was in need of some mental and physical “RnR.” 

I wasn’t quite ready to kit-up yet, so this past Saturday I hiked 7 miles with a big group of boy scouts (and my two boys) up to the top of Palo Corona Park in Carmel Valley. The weather was cool but the views were spectacular! Spending the day outside with the boys was a great way to end my break feeling relaxed and refreshed.

Bev and the Chaneys

Beverly hiking with her boys

Sunday marked the start of road training with my annual “opening day” trek to Big Sur! It was another gorgeous January day to ride down the coast. I didn’t see any whales, but I spotted several sea otters in the coves and tons of surfers and scuba divers.

Bev Chaney riding to Big Sur

Teammate Bev Chaney on her annual trek to Big Sur, kicking off her 2012 training!

It felt good to be on the bike again, though I did try to keep the hammering to a minimum on the hills. I’m looking forward to a great year with the the rest of my Touchstone Climbing teammates!

 

Responses

  1. Bev you are so cool!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

